Tallinn University of Technology

The Ethics Committee of Tallinn University of Technology (hereafter, the Committee) is an independent expert body tasked with evaluating ethical and data protection aspects at research performed at the University. The Committee can also issue statements on violations of academic etiquette and practices.

The Committee bases its activities on the Personal Data Protection Act and other relevant laws, the Estonian Best Practice in Research, the European Code of Conduct for Research Integrity and other similar codes as well as the quality assurance memorandum of Estonian universities.

The current membership of the Committee was established with the Rector's Decree No 7 (March 16, 2021; in force since March 18)

Principles of Academic Ethics 

Members of the Committee:

The Chair of the Committee is Birgy Lorenz, the Vice-Chair is Ott Scheler. Regular meetings of the Committee take place monthly on the third Tuesday at 16:00-18:00. The general e-mail address for the Committee is eetika@taltech.ee

Notifications and complaints can be submitted at https://vihje.taltech.ee/. Please use the subject line of  "For the Ethics Committee" and include your contact information. Committee will not discuss anonymous complaints.

The committee will discuss cases received by the second day of the month of the meeting.