Tallinn University of Technology

On Friday, June 4, seven master´s students of Technology Governance and Digital Transformation MA programme will defend their master´s thesis in Ragnar Nurkse Department of Innovation and Governance.

The indicative schedule of defenses and the topics of students' master's theses are as follows:

  • At 10:00 (UTC+3) - Nathan Finn Licht"Insights into Internet Voting: Adoption Stages, Drivers & Barriers, and the Possible Impact of COVID-19"
    Supervisors: Prof. Dr. Robert Krimmer, Dr. David Duenas Cid; Formal opponent: Prof. Dr. Mihkel Solvak,  Johan Skytte Institute of Political Studies
  • At 10:45 (UTC+3) - Karin Kruup"Commons-Based Peer Production in Benefit of Grassroots Initiatives of Sustainability Transitions"
    Supervisors: Alexandros Pantazis, MA; Prof. Dr. Vasileios Kostakis; Formal opponent:  Dr. Vasilis Niaros, Research Fellow, Universitat Oberta de Catalunya
  • At 11:30 (UTC+3) - Lukas Adel Riad"A Systematic Literature Review of Shanzhai: An Alternative Approach to Western-Centric Conceptions of Innovation and Making?"
    Supervisors: Alexandros Pazaitis, MA; Prof. Dr. Vasileios Kostakis; Formal opponent:  Dr. Christina Priavolou, Research Fellow, Tallinn University of Technology
  • At 13:00 (UTC+3) - Grace Muthoni Muchiri"Unfolding the Concept of Convenience Voting: Definition, Types, Benefits and Barriers"
    Supervisors: Prof. Dr. Robert Krimmer, Dr. David Duenas Cid, Iuliia Krivonosova, MA; Formal opponent: Dr. Priit Vinkel, Consultant to the State Electoral Office of Estonia
  • At 13:45 (UTC+3) - Daniel Raphael Ita"Towards a Framework for the Adoption of Smart Urban Waste Management System: A Case Study of the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja"
    Supervisor: Luiza Schuh de Azambuja, MSc; Formal opponent:  Nikiforos Tsiouris, Junior research fellow, RNI
  • At 14:30 (UTC+3) - Chris Fraser"Inuit Technological Self-Determination through Institutions of Governance and Industrialization"
    Supervisors: Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Drechsler, Prof. Dr. Erik S. Reinert; Formal opponent: Prof. Dr. Rainer Kattel, UCL/RNI
  • 15:15 (UTC+3) - Abiola Adekanmi Olajide"Review of the Farm Settlement Scheme in Nigeria From 1999 till Date"
    Supervisor: Shobhit Shakya, MSc; Formal opponent:  Dr. Zinabu Samaro Rekiso, UNDCO/UN RCO

The members of this year's defense committee are: Dr. Egert Juuse, Head of the Commission, Prof. Dr. Erkki Karo, Vice-head of the commission and Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Drechsler, Prof. Dr. Anu Masso, Prof. Dr. Vasilis Kostakis, Dr. Veiko Lember, Dr. Margit Kirs, Dr. Matti Ville Samulu Ylönen, Dr. Chtistos Giotitsas, Dr. Kaire Holts, Dr. Amirouche Moktefi, Dr. Ralf-Martin Soe, Jaanus Müür, MA, junior research fellow and Luiza Schuch de Azambuja, MSc, junior research fellow.

Master's theses are defended via MS Teams and are held in English.

To join the defenses, please notify Egert Juuse, Head of the Defense Commission, of your interest to participate: egert.juuse@taltech.ee