Tallinn University of Technology

The Estonian Young Academy of Sciences (EYAS) elected Maarja Grossberg, Professor of TalTech, the winner of the 2021 Estonian National Research Awards in technical sciences, and materials researcher, as the new President. Innar Liiv, Associate Professor of Data Science at TalTech, as well as Ester Oras and Helen Eenmaa from the University of Tartu and Marju Raju from the Estonian Academy of Music and Theatre were also elected to the five-member board.

The new board plans to continue to protect the interests of young researchers, especially in terms of research funding and career development, to contribute to the popularisation of science and the science-based nature of Estonian society.

EYAS is an independent non-profit association founded in 2017. Its aim is to represent the interests of young Estonian researchers, contribute to the development of science and society, and explain and increase the role of science in the society. The members of the Estonian Young Academy of Sciences are outstanding and active researchers of up to 41 years of age holding a PhD.

Maarja Grossberg