Tallinn University of Technology

Structure and Council

Study Centre for Electronics and Communication Engineering coordinates teaching in Hardware Design and Programming (BSc) 
and Communicative Electronics (MSc) programmes. The Centre participates in interdisciplinary cooperation with other TalTech 
study programmes as well as with TalTech Open University

Future electronics has cognitive functions deeply embedded within and this integration bases on WSN, RFID and NFC, IoT and ohter solutions. R&D in smart embedded and energy efficient electronics is increasingly important and its visible number permanently is growing. To development of new and up-grade of existing core competences at the Thomas Johann Seebeck Department of Electronics the Horizon 2020 ERA-chair Grant Agreement number: 668995 — “Cognitive Electronics COEL“ —H2020-WIDESPREAD-2014-2 project frames are applied for development and design of new architectures and platforms with improved yield sensor technologies with an efficient communication techniques for autonomous systems including RFID and NFC solutions.

See more:

ERA-Chair of Cognitive Electronics website

Lab On Chip website

The group performs R&D in wireless communication: techniques and algorithms for enabling 5G new radio, but also development of 5G testbed including support to realize massive machine type communication enhanced mobile broadband services and ultra-reliable and low latency communication services and digitalization of society (i.e., smart healthcare, smart mobility, smart city, industrial automation 4.0) development of vertical applications and services in a full-stack model including connectivity, services, content, end-user community and appropriate devices.

See more:

Closed-loop communication system to support highly responsive neuromuscular assistive stimulation website

Public Safety Communication in the Context of Terrorist Attacks website

The Research Group of Measuring Electronics is engaged in developing (mostly in the field of impedance spectroscopy) innovative measuring instruments, solutions and applications. Measuring solutions are necessary for the perception, evaluation and identification of physiological parameters in healthcare, materials, structures, tissues, food properties, etc.


  • 2017 The Thomas Johann Seebeck Department of Electronics merges the Department of Radio- and Communication Technologies.
  • 2011 The Thomas Johann Seebeck Department of Electronics (TJS ELIN) was formed following the regulations of the university structural reform.
  • 1999 The Department of Electronics and the Department of Computer Systems finish up the activities of the Electronics Competence Centre.
  • 1993 The Department of Electronics together with the Department of Computer Systems create the Electronics Competence Centre as a virtually functioning unit.
  • 1992 The Department of Electronics (ELIN) was established.
  • 1985 The Measurement Research Lab unites with the Cathedra of Electronics.
  • 1962 The Cathedra of Electronics was initiated.


This membership of the Council is appointed until August 31, 2025

  1. Alar Kuusik, Director, Head of Council;
  2. Muhammad Mahtab Alam, Professor;
  3. Paul Annus, Senior Research Scientist;
  4. Andres Eek, lektor, Lecturer, Head of Study Centre;
  5. Rauno Jõemaa, Student Representative;
  6. Eva Keerov, Assistant to Manager.
  7. Marika Kulmar, Early Stage Researcher;
  8. Raul Land, Senior Research Scientist;
  9. Margus Metshein, Researcher;
  10. Yannick Le Moullec, Professor;
  11. Olev Märtens, Senior Research Scientist;
  12. Ivo Müürsepp, Senior Lecturer;
  13. Kaiser Pärnamets, Lecturer;
  14. Frederick Rang, Head of ICT labs.