Tallinn University of Technology

Tallinn University of Technology (TalTech) Estonia’s flagship of engineering and IT sciences. TalTech provides higher education at all levels (bachelor, master and doctoral) and integrates research with business innovation. TalTech includes five faculties (School of Information Technologies, School of Engineering, School of Science, School of Business and Governance and Estonian Maritime Academy). TalTech is a member in EIT KIC Digital and KIC Raw Materials. There is an established TTO in TalTech. 


The University of Tartu (UT) is a national university of Estonia. UT includes four faculties (the Faculty of Arts and Humanities, the Faculty of Social Sciences, the Faculty of Medicine and the Faculty Science and Technology). UT is a member of EIT KIC Manufacturing, KIC Health and KIC Urban Mobility. Strong technology transfer unit together with proof of concept funding in the UT for the TRL level 2/3+. UT is the first university in Estonia having an investment company Uni Tartu Ventures in order to commercialize the IP created in the University. 


Tallinn University’s (TLU) mission is to support the sustainable development of Estonia through high quality research and study, education of intellectuals, public discussion and promotion of academic partnership. TLU provides higher education at all levels (bachelor, master and doctoral) and also fosters life-long learning through complementary education. TLU includes six schools (Baltic Film, Media and Art School, School of Digital Technologies, School of Natural Sciences and Health, School of Humanities, School of Governance, Law and Society) and one college (Haapsalu college). Currently, in 2021, TLU is not a member of any EIT KIC. There is no established KTTO yet.


The Stockholm School of Economics in Riga (SSE Riga) is a private higher education institution established by the Stockholm School of Economics and the Latvian Government. It is a school focused on business education having two accredited study programmes on bachelor and Executive MBA levels. SSE Riga does not have an established TTO and they are not a member of any EIT KIC’s. SSE Riga, being a private school (the only authorized person is the Chairman of the Management Board) and having only one faculty, has signed only one Commitment letter.

SSE Riga

Vilnius University (VU) is the largest University in Lithuania involved in multi-disciplinary academic activity.. Vilnius university belongs to the Arqus European University Alliance together with universities of Bergen, Granada, Graz, Leipzig, Lyon and Padova - seven longstanding comprehensive research universities who share extensive experience in joint projects and a common profile as internationalized institutions with deep regional engagement in medium-sized cities. VU involves 15 faculties in a very broad range of disciplines. VU is not a member of any EIT KIC’s.


The consortium is supported by the Research and Technology Organisation Tecnalia (ES). Tecnalia is a leading Research and Technological Development Centre in Europe, whose mission is to transform technology into GDP to improve people’s quality of life, by creating business opportunities for companies, being member of BRTA (Basque Research and Technology Alliance). Tecnalia has a wide range of universities and entrepreneurship ecosystem stakeholders in their network and are experienced mediators between researchers and entrepreneurs. Tecnalia brings on board a network of European RTOs (like Fraunhofer in Germany, TNO in Netherlands or VTT in Finland), enabling the consortium involving additional competences if necessary. Tecnalia is a member of four EIT KICs: Manufacturing, Health, Urban Mobility, Climate and Core Partner of the EIT KIC Raw Materials.