Tallinn University of Technology


  • TalTech's 3-rd Best Development: Tomographic extension to Quadra™: Dr Paul Annus (et al.) got the TalTech's Best Developments 2018 Award: 3rd-4th place - “Impedance Spectro Tomograph QT18”. Research group included dr Paul Annus, prof Mart Min, dr Raul Land, dr Marek Rist, prof Olev Märtens. The work was based on the patented TalTech Quadra™ unique highly dynamical impedance-measurement technology (implemented in the form of the embedded device together with Eliko Competence Centre), taking 1000 impedance spectras every second. A special hard- and software extension interface to Quadra was developed for electrical impedance tomography (EIT) to further benefit from this solution and enable new applications. The new solution was successfully approbated together with the Computational Biophysics and Imaging Group people of the Tampere Technical University.
  • The research article of the Year - about Wearable Bioimpedance Device. The following paper was recognized as one of the “Research Articles of the Year” in IT school of TalTech: Kõiv, H., Rist, M., Min, M. Development of bioimpedance sensing device for wearable monitoring of the aortic blood pressure curve. tm - Technisches Messen, 2018, 85 (5), 366−377.
  • Mahtab Muhammad Alam: best researcher of Thomas Johann Seebeck Department of Electronics, 2018
  • Ahti Ainomäe, Tõnu Trump, Yannick Le Moullec, "Distributed Adaptive Largest Eigenvalue Detection with SNR Weighted Observations". Best paper award - Eliko Technology Competence Centre (Estonia), BEC conference 2018
  • Olev Märtens, “Impedance Spectroscopy”, IEEE – The Instrumentation and Measurement Society 2018 Faculty Course Development Award. http://ieee-ims.org/awards/faculty-course-development-award and http://ieee-ims.org/content/ieee-2018-i2mtc-awards-ceremony
  • Yannick Le Moullec, Certificate of appreciation for the successful supervision of PhD students (highest number of recently graduated PhD students in the School of Information Technologies, Tallinn University of Technologies, Tallinn, Estonia.
  • Our BSc and MSc students are encouraged to participate in Tallinn University of Technology’s ICT thesis contest. Our department has got four winners and four nominees since the start of the contest in 2015:
    • June 2019: Kristjan Soodla, "Lühiajalise kestusega raadiosignaali suuna määramine pseudo-dopplerilise raadiopeilingaatoriga", supervisor Senior Lecturer Ivo Müürsepp. Best thesis in BSc hardware and systems category.
    • June 2019: Andreas Nagel, "Koordinaatide kaudu suunatav kontroller suundantenni pöörajale", supervisor Professor Toomas Ruuben. Nominated and reached final stage in BSc hardware and systems category
    • June 2019: Vahur Lepvalts, "SD-WAN teenuse seadistamine ettevõtte näitel", supervisor Lecturer Marika Kulmar. Nominated and reached final stage in BSc hardware and systems category
    • June 2019: Siim Pille, "Radio Frequency Circuitry Design and Evaluation of UWB Based Indoor Positioning System KIO", supervisor Senior Research Scientist Alar Kuusik. Nominated and reached final stage under MSc hardware and systems category
    • June 2018: Stiven Vesi, “Sensoorikaplaat tudengivormelile FEST18”, supervisor Olev Märtens. The special prize of MSc hardware and systems category
    • June 2017: Karel Pärlin, “Jamming of Spread Spectrum Communications Used in UAV Remote Control Systems”, supervisors Muhammad Mahtab Alam and Yannick Le Moullec. The winner of MSc hardware and systems category
    • June 2016: Shaoxuan Wang, “Modeling the reflected THz range radiation from blood cells”, supervisor Reeno Reeder. The special prize of MSc hardware and systems category. 
    • June 2016: Levent Selcuk, "GPS-Independent Outdoor Positioning System", supervisor senior research scientist Alar Kuusik. Nominated and reached final stage in MSc hardware and systems category